top of page
Search

Our First Blog Post!

Welcome to the first blog post from Breakthrough Manchester’s College-Bound Leadership Council. Breakthrough Manchester College-Bound now has a Leadership Council of six class representatives and two advisors. Caitlyn takes the lead as the program assistant. Ultimately our goal is to have 8 class representatives and 4 advisors but we still need to vote for the freshmen representative and we need a freshman and senior advisor. Our main goal and mission is to bridge the gap between students and the director, Ben, and other advisors. We are here to help each and every student voice their concerns about what Breakthrough Manchester College-Bound could be doing better for our students and the community.

Here are brief introductions from each student and advisor:

Hedaya Badr:

Hi my name is Hedaya Badr, I am a junior at Pinkerton Academy. I like to run, bake, and travel. As

a leadership council member I plan to make sure that the student body has ideas that are heard as well as implemented into Breakthrough Manchester College-Bound. To me, BTMCB means an opportunity to strive for your best self in school as well as out of it.

Ricky:

Hi, my name is Ricky. I’m a sophomore at Manchester Memorial High School, and

I enjoy playing the violin in my free time. With the leadership council, I want to make the Breakthrough community closer and feel more connected, especially during this time when we are all at home.

Lilliana:

Hi, I’m Lilliana and I’m a junior at Memorial High. I have an unhealthy obsession with One Direction and plan on going to university in the UK. I joined Breakthrough for

the amazing opportunity to make friends, and it is safe to say that mission has been accomplished. :)

Nevaeh:

Hi, I’m Nevaeh Spears. I am a Sophomore at Manchester West High school. I like to play Volleyball and meet new people. I am very grateful I had so many

opportunities when I was in BTM. Now that I am on the Council, I want to bring more excitement in this program, and have everyone use their voices and take chances! Let’s all have fun this year!

Truc Linh:

My name is Truc Linh and I am a Central High School senior. As someone who is on a more reserved and quieter side, I am extremely thankful that Breakthrough has created the opportunity for

me to serve as one of the Class of 2021 representatives. I would like to help bring this opportunity to everybody and to create an environment where each and every student is confident and comfortable contributing their ideas. Breakthrough Manchester has helped me step out of my comfort zone, to reach beyond limits, and most importantly to always strive to become the best version of me, and I want all Breakthrough students to feel the same.


Karena:

My name is Karena and I am a Breakthrough Manchester senior. I love to paint and help others in the best way I can. My main goal right now is to apply to college but I know how stressful that can be. I am so grateful that Breakthrough has given me multiple opportunities to accomplish my dreams

and further my plan to go to college. As a Breakthrough Leadership council member, I am hoping to create a bridge between Breakthrough Manchester students and regular students. I would love to be able to share my knowledge through this blog about college opportunities and tips.

Caitlyn:

Caitlyn Doonan is currently a junior at SNHU and pursuing a bachelor’s degree in

Psychology with a concentration in Forensic Psychology.

Her goal is to dedicate her time into helping high school students achieve their dream of getting accepted into college and inspire them to make the most out of their experience. From her personal experience, she knows that applying to college can be scary and frustrating, so she wants to make sure our aspiring college students feel at ease when preparing themselves for further education.

Coleen:

Coleen recently graduated from SNHU with a degree in Elementary Education and Special Education. She is so excited to be returning and working as a Dedicated Advisor for a second

year. In her spare time, Coleen enjoys participating in community service projects, trying out new recipes, and reading.

Erika:

Erika is going to be a junior at SNHU and she is working towards a degree in Social Studies Education. She is taking a semester off, but working full time as a lead teacher for two and three year olds. She is

also working to get her directors license. In her free time she likes to paint, run or listen to music. When she goes to visit home in Connecticut she spends a lot of time with her dog, Chloe! She is beyond excited to see what this year holds for her advisory, she knows they are going to do great things!



Disclosure: These blog posts are free to be written by any Breakthrough Manchester College-Bound student. If you have any questions or would like to submit a writing piece for the blog, you can contact anyone from the Leadership Council through BAND or you can email me (karenalynn03@gmail.com) or Ben (b.gentry@snhu.edu). Also I have already created a poll on BAND so if you are interested in creating a blog post, you can also answer that.


63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page